Antimicrobiens

Identification de hits et sélection de leads

Optimisation de leads

Caractérisation de candidat médicament

Antimicrobiens

Notre mission est de développer des connaissances, des savoir-faire et des technologies pour connaitre, comprendre et analyser les interactions entre hôte/pathogène/solution thérapeutique et contribuer ainsi à lutter contre l’émergence de nouvelles pathologies infectieuses et la résistance aux antimicrobiens (AMR).

En qualité de développeur des solutions thérapeutiques curatives ou préventives, les principaux défis auxquels vous êtes confrontés sont de différents ordres :

  • construire une démarche de développement globale et coordonnée,
  • développer des traitements qui ciblent des pathogènes prioritaires connus ou émergents,
  • proposer des stratégies alternatives (anticorps, peptides, phages, etc.),
  • trouver des approches complémentaires pour limiter les résistances ou la persistance des bactéries,
  • assurer la continuité de votre processus de recherche.

Les pathologies sur lesquelles nous travaillons sont les infections nosocomiales, les maladies tropicales négligées mais aussi les pandémies.

Les pathogènes que nous manipulons couramment en environnement BSL2 ou 3 comprennent notamment ceux des listes de priorité de l’OMS, des autorités de santé et des centres de contrôle des maladies infectieuses . Ils peuvent être intra ou extracellulaires, avoir un comportement indépendant (planctonique) ou organisé (biofilm) et se multiplier rapidement ou être en dormance.

Ils sont à l’origine d’une variété de pathologies infectieuse sur lesquelles nous pouvons coopérer.

Les substances que vous souhaitez développer, à des fins thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques, peuvent être dirigées contre le pathogène ou spécifique à l’hôte (récepteur mammalien, réponse immunitaire ou microbiote).

Nous concourrons à vos enjeux de « drug discovery & drug development » en vous proposant une démarche globale et coordonnée allant des méthodes alternatives d’identification de hits, critères de sélection de leads innovants et de qualité, et caractérisations poussées de vos candidats médicaments, aux évaluations du potentiel thérapeutique de vos produits dans des combinaisons ciblées.

Lorsque nécessaire, nous adaptons les modèles et tests classiques ou en développons de nouveaux pour offrir les solutions correspondant le mieux à vos besoins spécifiques. Par exemple, dans le contexte de la phagothérapie, nous avons adapté les méthodologies classiques de biodistribution et pharmacocinétique pour étudier in vivo la concentration des phages dans différents organes au cours du temps après injection par voie I.V..

Infections
Icon infections
Microorganismes
Icon microorganism
Agents anti-infectieux
Icon anti-infectives agents
Maladies
Icon vaccines
  • nosocomiales, souvent bactériennes ou fongiques, généralement responsables d'infections des voies respiratoires, des voies urinaires, du sang ou de la peau
  • émergentes, souvent virales ou parasitaires, généralement responsables d'épidémies, de pandémies ou de maladies tropicales négligées
  • virus (ex. : le SRAS-COV-2, la dengue, le VHB, le chikungunya.)
  • bacteries (ex. : ESKAPE, Clostridium difficile, Mycobacterium tuberculosis, AMR bacteria)
  • parasites (ex. : Trypanosoma cruzi, Leishmania donovani, Plasmodium spp)
  • champignons (Candida albicans, Candida auris, Aspergillus fumigatus)
  • petite molécule, ingrédient unique ou en combinaison
  • grandes structures (peptide, protéines, anticorps, nucléotides)
  • extraits et produits naturels
  • approches alternatives telles que les bactériophages
  • thérapies orientées vers l'hôte (immunomodulateur, etc.)
  • voies respiratoires, pneumonie, COVID, grippe, HAP (Hospital Acquired Pneumoniae), VAP (Ventilator Associated Pneumonia)
  • voies urinaires, ITUC, pyélonéphrite
  • circulation sanguine, bactériémie, septicémie
  • peau et tissus mous, plaies
1

Identification de hits et sélection de leads

Afin de générer des nouveaux antibiotiques issus de bio-ressources anaérobiques, nous développons de nouvelles méthodes de criblage, basées sur la micro-fluidique afin d’identifier de nouvelles bactéries productrices d’antibiotiques.

Notre capacité à cultiver ces bactéries fastidieuses d’intérêt en quantité suffisante nous permet d’analyser la structure du composé antibiotique par HPLC, SM, RMN. Après identification du processus de biosynthèse de l’antibiotique par la bactérie anaérobique et transfert de ce processus par ingénierie de souches, nous pourrons vous fournir une souche facilement cultivable capable de produire le nouvel antibiotique identifié.

Regardez notre vidéo Anoxic ici.

 

L’évaluation in vitro de l’activité de vos composés sur des souches cliniques ou modèles selon les recommandations du CLSI ou de l’EUCAST, sous forme planctonique ou biofilm, vous permettra de mesurer leur susceptibilité et résistance dans un panel étendu de conditions différentes.

Consultez ici notre offre Modèles In Vitro / In Vivo.

2

Optimisation de leads

Ce premier niveau de caractérisation fait appel aux modèles in vitro avancés, dont le design expérimental (in vivo mimicking media, organ-on-chip, environnement dynamique) est plus représentatif de l’in vivo. Il s’agit en particulier de vous permettre de dérisquer votre produit dans les phases précliniques précoces.

L’identification de nouvelles cibles et des voies biologiques impliquées dans l’activité d’un antibiotique, ainsi que la démonstration de la nouveauté d’un mécanisme d’action, sont rendues possibles par un ensemble de technologies OMIC, bio-informatique et d’intelligence artificielle intégrées.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur notre offre Mécanisme d’Action.

3

Caractérisation de candidat médicament

En préambule des études in vivo, nous vous proposons de réaliser des études de biodistribution et évaluations de profils pharmacocinétiques afin de déterminer le régime thérapeutique optimal (voie d’administration, dose, nombre de doses et intervalle entre les doses). Nous pourrons ensuite évaluer l’efficacité de votre candidat, seul ou en combinaison. Enfin, les études des relations PK/PD en fonction des différentes voies d’administration peuvent compléter avantageusement l’évaluation de votre candidat médicament.

Nous personnalisons nos modèles précliniques de maladies infectieuses chez les rongeurs aux spécificités de votre produit avant d’en tester l’efficacité (résistance du pathogène, statut immunitaire, sévérité de l’infection, chronicité, readouts, etc.). Ces modèles sur mesure concernent en particulier, la septicémie, la pneumonie, les infections urinaire, les infections de la peau et des tissus mous, les abcès et les infections du cœur.

Ils nous permettent également de rechercher des biomarqueurs d’efficacité de traitements, au cours de ces études.

Consultez notre offre Biomarkers ici.

 

Ensemble, nous sélectionnons les données qui seront utilisées dans l’étude, parmi plusieurs paramètres : cliniques (survie, poids, température, etc.), microbiologiques (UFC, UFP, imagerie in vivo, etc.), immunologiques (recrutement de PBMC, dosage de cytokines, anticorps neutralisants, etc. Par exemple, notre modèle préclinique COVID-19 est hautement personnalisable pour s’adapter aux spécificités de vos produits.

 

Dans le cadre des thérapies orientées de l’hôte,
nous proposons de:

  1. caractériser la réponse immunitaire au cours d’un traitement antimicrobien pour affiner le régime thérapeutique,
  2. étudier la modulation de la réponse immunitaire par votre produit seul ou en combinaison,
  3. quantifier la réponse immunitaire pour comparer des molécules sur la base de ces analyses.

Régis Villet
Régis VilletResponsable des partenariatsIcon email

Antimicrobials

Hit identification and lead selection

Lead optimization

Drug candidate characterization

Antimicrobials

Our mission is to develop knowledge, know-how and technologies to know, understand and analyze the interactions between host/pathogen/therapeutic solution and thus contribute to the fight against the emergence of new infectious diseases and antimicrobial resistance (AMR).

As a developer of curative or preventive health solutions, you face several challenges:

  • build a comprehensive and coordinated development approach,
  • develop treatments that target known or emerging priority pathogens,
  • propose alternative strategies (antibodies, peptides, phages, etc…),
  • find complementary approaches to limit the resistance or persistence of bacteria,
  • ensure the continuity of your research process.

We work on the main infectious diseases namely nosocomial infections, neglected tropical diseases and pandemics.

Pathogens that we routinely handle in a BSL2 or BSL3 environment include those on priority lists from WHO, health authorities and Centers for Infectious Disease Control. They can be intra or extracellular, have an independent (planktonic) or organized (biofilm) behavior and multiply rapidly or be dormant.

They are at the origin of a variety of infectious diseases on which we can cooperate.

The substances you wish to develop, for therapeutic or prophylactic purposes, can be directed against the pathogen or specific to the host (mammalian receptor, immune response or microbiota).

We will contribute to your drug discovery & drug development challenges by offering you a global and coordinated approach ranging from alternative methods for identifying hits, selection criteria for innovative and quality leads, and in-depth characterizations of your drug candidates, to evaluations of the therapeutic potential of your products in targeted combinations.

When necessary, we adapt classic models and tests or develop new ones to offer the solutions that best meet your specific needs. For example, in the context of phage therapy, we have adapted classical biodistribution and pharmacokinetic methodologies to study in vivo the concentration of phages in different organs over time after I.V. injection.

Infections
Icon infections
Microorganisms
Icon microorganism
Anti-infectives agents
Icon anti-infectives agents
Diseases
Icon vaccines
  • nosocomial, often bacterial or fungal, usually responsible for respiratory tract, urinary tract, bloodstream or skin infections
  • emerging, often viral or parasitic, usually responsible for epidemics, pandemics or neglected tropical diseases
  • viruses (e.g. SARS-COV-2, dengue fever, HBV, chikungunya)
  • bacteria (e.g. ESKAPE, Clostridium difficile, Mycobacterium tuberculosis, AMR bacteria)
  • parasites (e.g. Trypanosoma cruzi, Leishmania donovani, Plasmodium spp)
  • fungi (Candida albicans, Candida auris, Aspergillus fumigatus)
  • small molecule, single ingredient or in combination
  • large structures (peptide, proteins, antibodies, nucleotides)
  • extracts and natural products
  • alternative approaches such as bacteriophages
  • host-oriented therapies (immunomodulator, etc.)
  • respiratory tract, pneumonia, COVID, flu, HAP (Hospital Acquired Pneumoniae), VAP (Ventilator Associated Pneumonia)
  • urinary tract cUTI, pyelonephritis
  • bloodstream, bacteremia, septicemia
  • skin & soft tissues, wounds
1

Hits identification of and hits to leads

In order to generate new antibiotics from anaerobic bio-resources, we are developing new screening methods, based on micro-fluidics in order to identify new antibiotic-producing bacteria.

Our ability to cultivate these fastidious bacteria of interest in sufficient quantity allows us to analyze the structure of the antibiotic compound by HPLC, MS, NMR. After identification of the antibiotic biosynthesis process by the anaerobic bacterium and transfer of this process by strain engineering, we can provide you with an easily cultivable strain capable of producing the new identified antibiotic.

Watch our Anoxic video here.

 

The in vitro evaluation of the activity of your compounds on clinical strains or models according to the recommendations of CLSI or EUCAST, in planktonic or biofilm form, will allow you to measure their susceptibility and resistance in a wide range of different conditions.

Visit here our In Vitro / In Vivo Models offer.

2

Leads optimization

This first level of characterization is based on advanced in vitro models, whose experimental design (in vivo mimicking media, organ-on-chip, dynamic environment) is more representative of in vivo. This is in particular to allow you to derisk your product in the early preclinical phases.

The identification of new targets and biological pathways involved in the activity of your antibiotic, as well as the demonstration of the novelty of a mechanism of action, are made possible thanks to a set of OMIC technologies, bioinformatics and integrated artificial intelligence.

Learn about our Mechanism of action offer here.

3

Drug Candidate Characterization

As a preamble to in vivo studies, we suggest to you carry out biodistribution studies and evaluations of pharmacokinetic profiles in order to determine the optimal therapeutic regimen (route of administration, dose, number of doses and interval between doses). Then we can assess the efficacy of your candidate, alone or in combination. Finally, studies of PK/PD relationships according to different routes of administration can nicely complement the evaluation of your drug candidate.

We customize our rodent preclinical models of infectious diseases to the specifics of your product before testing their efficacy (pathogen resistance, immune status, severity of infection, chronicity, readouts, etc.). These bespoke models relate in particular to sepsis, pneumonia, urinary tract infections, skin and soft tissue infections, abscesses, heart infections.

In addition, they also allow searching for biomarkers of treatment efficacy during these studies.

Consult our Biomarkers offer.

 

Together, we cherry-pick the readouts that will be used in the study, amongst several parameters: clinical (survival, weight, temperature, etc.), microbiological (CFU, PFU, in vivo imaging, etc.), immunological (recruitment of PBMC, dosage of cytokines, neutralizing antibodies, etc.) and histological. For example, our COVID-19 preclinical model is highly customizable to fit the specifics of your products.

 

In the context of host-oriented therapies,
we propose to:

  1. characterize the immune response during antimicrobial treatment to refine the therapeutic regimen,
  2. study the modulation of the immune response by your product alone or in combination,
  3. quantify the immune response to compare molecules based on these analyses.

Régis Villet
Régis VilletStrategic partnership managerIcon email
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.